RETROSPEKTIVE

Honorary Award for Director Joseph Vilsmaier 2017

2017 – a special year for Film Festival Kitzbuehel: For the first time it will bestow a Honorary Award. The award will go to the great director Joseph Vilsmaier for his lifework, including some German-Austrian co-productions. The audience can look forward to seeing film highlights by the director from Munich, such as “Die Geschichte vom Brandner Kaspar“ (2008), adapted from the famous Bavarian folk play of the same name. Using a lot of humor and fantastic elements Vilsmaier tells the popular story of the gunsmith Brandner Kaspar (Franz Xaver Kroetz) from Tegernsee, who outwits Death, called “Boandlkramer“ (Michael „Bully“ Herbig), by stealing further years of his life from him during a game of cards. The cast includes such popular actors as Lisa Maria Potthoff, Sebastian Bezzel, Jörg Hube, Herbert Knaup and Detlev Buck.

Joseph Vilsmaier is closely linked with FFKB anyway – for the festival’s premiere in 2013 he presented his award-winning film adaptation of the novel “Brother of Sleep“ (1995) together with the main actor André Eisermann, a year later his homage to the famous 1930s vocal ensemble “Comedian Harmonists“ (1997) was the center of attention, also with the cast present.
Even though Vilsmaier started out studying music and piano and completed a technical education at ARRI, he found his true life’s calling behind the camera: as director and DOP. His directorial debut “Autumn Milk“ (1988), featuring his future wife Dana Vávrová in the lead role, was an instant success. Ever since his unpretentious filmic adaptation of the memoirs of the Lower Bavarian farmer’s wife Anna Wimschneider he is regarded as the “revivalist of regional cinema“, which he proved once again with his feature film “Rama Dama“ (1991) about the tough post-war life in Munich. Whether it is drama or comedy, Joseph Vilsmaier has an excellent feel for any genre. He also directed TV movies like “Die Gustloff“ (2008) about the dramatic sinking of a German hospital and refugee ship in the Baltic Sea in 1945, or the thriller “Russian Roulette“ (2012) with Katharina Böhm and Heinz Hoenig in the lead roles.

Another of Vilsmaier’s cinematic highlights is the extravagantly staged anti-war drama “Stalingrad“ (1993), which portrays the devastating battle from a German battalion’s perspective. One year later he turned his attention to the filming of Erich Kaestner’s famous children’s book “Das doppelte Lottchen“. His modern version “Charlie & Louise – Das doppelte Lottchen“ he skilfully transferred the story into the present and thus created an internationally acclaimed, entertaining film with depth.
Vilsmaier’s film “Marlene“ (2000), featuring Katja Flint in the role of the German Hollywood icon Marlene Dietrich, won Best Film at the Hollywood Film Festival in Los Angeles. The film is based on the biography, which Dietrich’s daughter Maria Riva wrote. Vilsmaier once again turned to historical material when he made the film “Leo & Claire“, dealing with the sentencing of a Jewish businessman for “racial defilement“ – a legal scandal and the most prominent case of perversion of justice during the Nazi time. Another drama set during the time of the Nazi regime is “The Last Train“ (2006), which describes a brutal transport to the Auschwitz concentration camp employing merciless realism.

Taking on an entirely different subject matter is Vilsmaiers’ mountaineer drama “Nanga Parbat“ (2010). It is based on Reinhold Messner’s account of the failed expedition to Nanga Parbat in the Himalayas in 1970, during which his brother Günther was killed in an accident.
Joseph Vilsmaier’s awards, from the Bavarian Film Award (among others for “Stalingrad“) to the Honorary Cinematography Award for his lifework, are meanwhile filling an entire shelf of trophies.

RETROSPEKTIVE

Ehrenpreis für den großen Regisseur Joseph Vilsmaier

2017 – ein besonderes Jahr fürs Filmfestival Kitzbühel: Zum ersten Mal verleiht es einen Ehrenpreis. Die Auszeichnung geht an den großartigen Regisseur Joseph Vilsmaier für sein Lebenswerk, darunter auch deutsch-österreichische Koproduktionen. Und die Zuschauer dürfen sich natürlich auf Film-Highlights des Münchner Regisseurs freuen, u.a. „Die Geschichte vom Brandner Kaspar“ (2008) nach dem populären bayerischen Volksstück. Vilsmaier erzählt mit viel Humor und Fantasy-Elementen die beliebte Geschichte des Tegernseer Büchsenmachers Brandner Kaspar (Franz Xaver Kroetz), der dem Tod „Boandlkramer“ (Michael „Bully“ Herbig) ein Schnippchen schlägt und ihm beim Kartenspielen weitere Lebensjahre abspenstig macht. Mit dabei: ein populäres Ensemble aus Lisa Maria Potthoff, Sebastian Bezzel, Jörg Hube, Herbert Knaup und Detlev Buck.

Mit dem FFKB ist Joseph Vilsmaier ohnehin eng verbunden – zur Premiere des Festivals 2013 präsentierte er gemeinsam mit Hauptdarsteller André Eisermann seine vielfach preisgekrönte Romanverfilmung „Schlafes Bruder“ (1995), und ein Jahr später stand dort seine Hommage an das berühmte 30er-Jahre-Gesangsensemble „Comedian Harmonists“ (1997) im Mittelpunkt, ebenfalls in Anwesenheit der Hauptdarsteller.

Auch wenn Joseph Vilsmaier ursprünglich Musik und Klavier studierte und eine technische Ausbildung bei ARRI absolvierte, fand er seine wahre Berufung hinter der Kamera: als Regisseur und Kameramann. Gleich sein Regie-Debüt „Herbstmilch“ (1988) mit seiner späteren Ehefrau Dana Vávrová in der Hauptrolle war auf Anhieb ein Erfolg. Seit seiner unprätentiösen Verfilmung der Lebenserinnerungen der niederbayerischen Bäuerin Anna Wimschneider gilt er als „Erneuerer des Heimatfilms“, was er 1991 mit seinem Spielfilm „Rama Dama“ über das harte Leben in München kurz nach dem Krieg erneut unter Beweis stellte. Ob dramatische Filmstoffe oder Komödien, Joseph Vilsmaier hat für alle Genres ein ausgezeichnetes Gespür. Ebenso inszenierte er auch Fernsehfilme wie „Die Gustloff“ (2008) über den dramatischen Untergang des deutschen Lazarett- und Flüchtlingsschiffs 1945 in der Ostsee oder den Thriller „Russisch Roulette“ (2012) mit Katharina Böhm und Heinz Hoenig in den Hauptrollen.

Zu Vilsmaiers weiteren Film-Highlights gehört auch das aufwändig inszenierte Anti-Kriegsdrama „Stalingrad“ (1993), das die verheerende Schlacht aus Sicht eines deutschen Bataillons schildert. Ein Jahr später wandte er sich der Verfilmung von Erich Kästner berühmten Kinderbuch „Das doppelte Lottchen“ zu. Mit seiner modernen Version „Charlie & Louise – Das doppelte Lottchen“ versetzte er die Geschichte geschickt in die Gegenwart und schuf daraus einen auch international preisgekrönten Unterhaltungsfilm mit Tiefgang.

Als Bester Spielfilm beim Hollywood Film Festival in Los Angeles wurde Vilsmaiers „Marlene“ (2000) mit Katja Flint als deutsche Hollywood-Legende Marlene Dietrich ausgezeichnet. Basis der verfilmten Lebensgeschichte: die Biografie, die Dietrich-Tochter Maria Riva geschrieben hatte. Mit „Leo und Claire“ wandte sich Joseph Vilsmaier 2001 erneut einem historischen Stoff zu: die Verurteilung eines jüdischen Geschäftsmannes wegen „Rassenschande“ – ein Justizskandal und der bekannteste Fall von Rechtsbeugung während der Nazi-Zeit. Ebenfalls während des NS-Regimes spielt das Drama „Der letzte Zug“ (2006), das in schonungslosem Realismus einen brutalen Transport ins KZ Auschwitz schildert.

Einem gänzlich anderen Thema widmete sich Joseph Vilsmaiers Bergsteiger-Drama „Nanga Parbat“ (2010). Es basiert auf Reinhold Messners Schilderungen der gescheiterten Expedition zum Nanga Parbat im Himalaya von 1970, bei der sein Bruder Günther tödlich verunglückte.

Joseph Vilsmaiers Auszeichnungen, vom Bayerischen Filmpreis (u.a. für „Stalingrad“) bis zum Ehrenkamerapreis für sein Lebenswerk, füllen mittlerweile ein ganzes Trophäenregal.