Film festival goes DACHTS

One of the most beautiful aspects of life is probably how you can joyfully watch your loved one grow. Be it your own children, your own plants or your own projects that are close to your heart. We can proudly look back on nine wonderful editions of the Kitzbühel Film Festival. One of our most successful formats is AlpenDating.
What began as a forum for up-and-coming production talents from the Alpine region quickly developed into an established annual meeting of mostly German-speaking, but also international filmmakers, distributors and everyone involved. Be it in the form of lectures, panels, speed dating, presentations or just ideas, the multi-day platform created a network of training and the promotion of young people. We are supported here by strong partners such as the Austrian Film Institute, the IDM Südtirol – Alto Adige, the Swiss Federal Office for Culture and the FilmFernseh-Fonds Bayern.
The development of AlpenDating shows us once again the importance of networking German-language film productions. Past successful productions stand for the liveliness as well as strength in these areas and we are only at the beginning of a change to even stronger German-language films and series. From our experiences and knowledge, we are therefore creating a new concept based on the experience of AlpenDating: The FFKB goes DACHTS. Once again we are intensifying the networking of all German-speaking regions, be it Austria, Switzerland, Trentino-South Tyrol or Germany. That is why we are increasingly focusing our programming on promoting young talent from these regions, for example in the short film competition with our own program.

Filmfestival goes DACHTS

Einer der schönsten Aspekte im Leben ist es wohl wie man voller Freude zuschauen kann wie das Liebste wächst. Seien es die eigenen Kinder, die eigenen Pflanzen oder auch die eigenen Projekte, die einem am Herzen liegen. Voller Stolz können wir auf neun wundervolle Ausgaben des Filmfestival Kitzbühel zurückschauen. Eines unserer erfolgreichsten Formate ist dabei das AlpenDating.
Was als Forum für aufstrebende Produktionstalente aus dem Alpenraum begann, entwickelte sich schnell als jährliches und etabliertes Treffen großteils deutschsprachiger, aber auch internationaler Filmschaffenden, Verleiher_innen und aller Beteiligten. Sei es in Form von Vorträgen, Panels, Speed Datings, Präsentationen oder einfach nur Vorstellungen, die mehrtätige Plattform schuf ein Netzwerk der Ausbildung und Nachwuchsförderung. Unterstützt werden wir hier von starken Partner_innen wie dem Österreichischen Filminstitut, den IDM Südtirol – Alto Adige, dem schweizer Bundesamt für Kultur und den FilmFernseh-Fonds Bayern.
Die Entwicklung des AlpenDatings zeigt uns einmal mehr die Wichtigkeit der Vernetzung deutschsprachiger Filmproduktionen auf. Vergangene erfolgreiche Produktionen stehen für die Lebendigkeit als auch Stärke in diesen Gebieten und wir stehen erst am Anfang eines Wandels zu noch stärkeren deutschsprachigen Filmen und Serien. Aus unseren Erfahrungen und Erkenntnissen schaffen wir deshalb ein neues Konzept auf Basis der Erfahrungen des AlpenDatings: Das FFKB goes DACHTS. Einmal mehr intensivieren wir die Vernetzung aller deutschsprachigen Regionen, sei es Österreich, Schweiz, Trentino-Südtirol oder Deutschland. Deshalb fokussieren wir uns verstärkt auch in der Programmierung auf die Förderung junger Nachwuchstalente aus diesen Regionen, etwa im Kurzfilmwettbewerb mit einem eigenen Programm.